Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Community Support for the machines running the game
pakkenberg
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 10:16 am
CMDR: pakkenberg
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby pakkenberg » Fri Aug 16, 2019 10:40 am

Hello fellow commanders.

I recently treated myself to the X52 pro hotas, and got very excited when I realized I could display information on it's multi-function display (MFD) :D .

My excitement quickly waned when I realised I had to program in C++ to talk to the thing, though :? .

But, with some help from Github, I have now produced two separate tools for my fellow commanders!

The first is a very simple "driver" for the MFD. It will continuously monitor a json file for changes, and display the information in the file on the hotas unit as it is updated.
This means that you can write to this json file from any tool and have the information show on the display without the need to write any C++ code yourself.

The second tool is an Elite: Dangerous-specific tool that reads the game logs to display:
  • Commander name and current credits
  • Current cargo hold (useful for mining)
  • Current location

While the initial version should be stable, this tool is more of a work in progress, and I'm currently looking to pull data from edsm.net and other sources to display on the hotas as well. So, there might be further updates here in the future.

Let me know if you have any suggestions for either tool, or if you find them useful.

CMDR Pakkenberg signing off.
Image

mewatkins
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 6:10 pm
CMDR: Merlyn
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby mewatkins » Tue Apr 14, 2020 4:26 pm

Hi

Just wanted to say that I just downloaded your tool to try with my X52 Pro as I was curious and it works a treat, thank you.

Do you have any further plans to develop the tool?

Cmdr Merlyn. O7

pakkenberg
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 10:16 am
CMDR: pakkenberg
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby pakkenberg » Tue Apr 14, 2020 5:34 pm

Greetings Cmdr.

No, I don't have any immediate plans to add features at this point - I'm mostly restricted by the data that is readily available in the logs files and simultaneously not easily accessible through the in-game UI.

But, I do hope that you enjoy it as it is.
Image

thefiremonkey
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 2:18 pm
CMDR: thefiremonkey
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby thefiremonkey » Tue Apr 21, 2020 2:21 pm

hi i 'm having problems as i run elite through steam any chanceyou could help

Deniax
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 2:12 pm
CMDR: Deniax
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby Deniax » Wed May 20, 2020 2:27 pm

Hi there commander,

I was very interested in your X52 pro scripts, enoough to create an account just to reply to you :)
Problem is, apparently I'm too much of a noob to make it work properly ..

I found your X52MFDDriver.exe (opens and closes quickly when clicking on it in W10) in the unpacked archives.
I have that market-connector working (fine it seems, as it updates correctly with the game)

but then to push/upload to the MFDisplay .. I'm a bit stuck ..
I read your helpfile, but can't seem to find any EDx52display.exe anywhere in the archives I downloaded .. I must do something wrong.

Would you mind point me in the right direction (very pretty) please ??
With all appologies for me being sush an ignorant Githubber !

Much Obliged for your time commander,
Regards

pakkenberg
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 10:16 am
CMDR: pakkenberg
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby pakkenberg » Wed May 20, 2020 3:01 pm

Hi
Deniax,

Thats from the "second tool" link in the original post. You can download the entire bundle here: https://github.com/peterbn/EDx52display ... s/tag/v1.1

Grab the EDx52Display.zip file, unpack it somewhere and run the included EDx52display.exe. The X52MFDDriver.exe application is bundled, and is a helper application that communicates directly with the joystick MFD, while the EDx52display.exe reads from the logs and simply uses the driver.

I admit the structure is a mess, but it kinda-sorta made sense when I put it all together back in the day.
Image

Deniax
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 2:12 pm
CMDR: Deniax
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby Deniax » Wed May 20, 2020 3:22 pm

Guess who's my new hero ?!!! :D

Working like a charm now ..

thank you for helping so swiftly, and thank you for sharing your work!

pakkenberg
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 10:16 am
CMDR: pakkenberg
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby pakkenberg » Wed May 20, 2020 3:52 pm

No problem. Fly safe, commander o7.
Image

MasterAce
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 12:58 am
CMDR: MasterAce
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby MasterAce » Thu May 28, 2020 1:18 am

Hi,
So uhh… what exactly is supposed to happen when i ran EDx52display.exe from https://github.com/peterbn/EDx52display ... s/tag/v1.1 ?
Cuz for me a console just appears and disappears and nothing changes...
My logs are in the right location, i checked. And i have EDMC running and it seems to be working correctly...

pakkenberg
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 10:16 am
CMDR: pakkenberg
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Logitech X52 Pro MFD display utility release

Postby pakkenberg » Thu May 28, 2020 12:35 pm

Hi MasterAce.

Are you certain that you ran the correct exe file? What you are describing sounds like the behaviour of X52MFDDriver.exe when run without any input argument (which it won't get if you are just double-clicking it).

Could you please confirm that you are running the correct exe file? It should keep a console window open while it's running.
Image


Return to “Hardware and Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

i