If this doesn't do it!!

Community Support for the machines running the game
TorTorden
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3953
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:13 am
CMDR: TorTorden
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

If this doesn't do it!!

Postby TorTorden » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:12 pm

I'm going to do something violent.

Image

For readability.
Image
Image

Hey I'm Thor -
People call me Bob.

Rule 1: Pillage. Then burn.
Rule 2: No such thing as overkill, as long as there are reloads.

TorTorden
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3953
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:13 am
CMDR: TorTorden
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: If this doesn't do it!!

Postby TorTorden » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:45 pm

Starts off with a hit, haven't done anything with the new yet but figured I could refresh my USB boot drive.

Fires up the media creation tool I have used on several occasions befor, updated of course, cause if it's not it just bitches and wants me to update it.

And there is a problem, and MS being twats, there is nothing but a long hex for an error.
Googling said error yields one result.

It's because the tool CANT CONTACT THE MS SERVER AND GET THE FUCKING EULA !!
Dear lord.
I need food.
Image

Hey I'm Thor -
People call me Bob.

Rule 1: Pillage. Then burn.
Rule 2: No such thing as overkill, as long as there are reloads.

User avatar
Loriath
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 2895
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:12 pm
CMDR: Loriath
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: If this doesn't do it!!

Postby Loriath » Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:21 pm

TorTorden wrote:I'm going to do something violent.



So... lets get this straight.... You are doing something expecting the outcome to be different by throwing money at the problem.... Yeah, that's not going to end well.

And as far as doing something violent, why should today be any different than any other Tuesday since we met you?

:P

BTW, since its an MS problem, why don't you call them? Even long distance is cheaper than what you paid for all that shit.
Image
My Commander has Small Feet
"You're doing it wrong". No, we are having Fun OUR way.
~-~The A-Team Board ~-~
12 year olds tearing around the woods on dirt bikes have LESS FUN than we do!

TorTorden
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3953
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:13 am
CMDR: TorTorden
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: If this doesn't do it!!

Postby TorTorden » Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:50 pm

That was kind of my joke.
As for the windows download tool I guess someone kicked the server cause it's working again.

After nearly 20 years building rigs now I have learned it might not be best to start on something this expensive while so hungry it's a good thing I don't have pets anymore.

Then again I already had meat in fridge.
I don't know about you but butchering a pet is not fast food.
Well maybe it starts that way...

Anyhoo. Spaghetti for four is now done.
Rubba dub dub, let's chow some grub.

Ps. hope your ear infection is improving.
I know those can be a real mother.
Image

Hey I'm Thor -
People call me Bob.

Rule 1: Pillage. Then burn.
Rule 2: No such thing as overkill, as long as there are reloads.

User avatar
Relix Typhon
Master
Master
Posts: 779
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 1:08 pm
CMDR: Relix Typhon
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: If this doesn't do it!!

Postby Relix Typhon » Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:52 pm

Does what? I assume you have been having problems?

TorTorden
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3953
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:13 am
CMDR: TorTorden
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: If this doesn't do it!!

Postby TorTorden » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:23 pm

Not real problems.
I have just been having some issues with maintaining stable 90fps in VR even though the 1080ti was running at 35%.

Now by first glance it wouldn't look like a CPU issue.
but I have been recording gameplay along with cpu/GPU loads and I see.
CPU load goes up, my GPU is at most 80% load at that point the rift throttled to 45fps and stay throttled until CPU decreases.

I know I'm really an insane idiot for doing this since Elite is the only VR game to behave like this.
Even project cars are doing better at comparably higher settings.

And I could crank Lone Echo to max and supersampling 2.0

On the ED vr forums there are basically two camps.
one being "ridiculous my i7 860 is good enough, games are only singel core anywyas"
Or "It matters, you are being held back".

I am almost the captain of the second team over there.
Things have changed the last two years and unreal engine uses up to 12 threads and unity at least 8 threads. and those are two engines used for 99% of vr content.

oh and I'm preparing for the pimax.

Going from 1200×1080 per eye to 2560×1440 might need a little extra pep in the tower.
Image

Hey I'm Thor -
People call me Bob.

Rule 1: Pillage. Then burn.
Rule 2: No such thing as overkill, as long as there are reloads.

User avatar
Cmdr Kharma
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3761
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:28 pm
CMDR: Kharma
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: If this doesn't do it!!

Postby Cmdr Kharma » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:59 pm

TorTorden wrote:I have just been having some issues with maintaining stable 90fps in VR even though the 1080ti was running at 35%.


Know the feeling................
Image

Tor.....Hold on.......Tor.......Wait a bit.....TOR will you stop fecking firing.......Ok......Tor I know a therapist that can help you....... :D My Cmdr also has small feet

User avatar
GlobusDiablo
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 2041
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:59 pm
CMDR: GlobusDiablo
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: If this doesn't do it!!

Postby GlobusDiablo » Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:24 am

TorTorden wrote:I'm going to do something violent.

Image

For readability.
Image


Doing it old school and relying on onboard gfx I see?...

Sidenote: Good luck.
Image

TorTorden
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3953
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:13 am
CMDR: TorTorden
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: If this doesn't do it!!

Postby TorTorden » Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:46 am

GlobusDiablo wrote:
TorTorden wrote:I'm going to do something violent.

Image

For readability.
Image


Doing it old school and relying on onboard gfx I see?...

Sidenote: Good luck.

Nah. using the 1080ti and psu I have from before.
You can see 1/3 of the 980ti going back into the 'old' along with the new psu.
Image

Hey I'm Thor -
People call me Bob.

Rule 1: Pillage. Then burn.
Rule 2: No such thing as overkill, as long as there are reloads.

User avatar
GlobusDiablo
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 2041
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:59 pm
CMDR: GlobusDiablo
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: If this doesn't do it!!

Postby GlobusDiablo » Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:01 am

TorTorden wrote:Nah. using the 1080ti and psu I have from before.
You can see 1/3 of the 980ti going back into the 'old' along with the new psu.


Figured as much. :) Just going for a cheap laugh. Anyway, I hope your investment pays off.

KA-CHING!

*triple smurk*

Here's Shania to clean things up for ya!:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEe3hBXZEyI

Not pointing any fingers by the way. I'm part and parcel myself. :)
Image


Return to “Hardware and Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
i