NeXuS
Harmless
Harmless
CMDR: NEXUS3
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Complete and Utter Noob Questions

Postby NeXuS » Fri Jan 16, 2015 4:50 am

Heya Guys,

I am completely new to Elite Dangerous and have never played the original 1984 version. I've only been playing for about a Month (more like a couple of weeks due to work commitments over xmas). So far I can handle combat, navigation, basic trading, docking etc. Pretty much all the basic game play mechanics. So far in the game I have been just playing and travelling as the Bulletin board takes me to different places. Literally living the life of a drifter. I've tried to pick up a couple of combat missions and failed all of them. Not through destruction, through time expiring. I've had a bit of a look through the official forums and there is just so much information to sift through. Its a little overwhelming.

My questions are is there a system/area I should be headed for? Currently I am sitting at the Baylock Enterprise station in the V1688 Aquilae system. I am starting to find a lot of the bulletin boards don't have missions available for me due to not enough cargo space or rep. I'm still in my Startwinder with a few upgrades I've equipped and extra equipment installed. I've had a read of a lot of bounty mission primers, I can't seem to either find 1 in an anarchy system OR if I do take one that's under control of a faction (Federation etc) I can never find any wanted targets (especially on the trader kill missions).

I apologize for the complete newbie questions. Normally I just try and muddle my way till I work it out, however so far I think this is an amazing game and want to get the most out of it. Put it this way I've already invested in a new HOTAS setup just for Elite.

:mrgreen: Thanks in advance! Really looking forward to reading any tips and tricks! :mrgreen:

Niddi
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
CMDR: Aske

Re: Complete and Utter Noob Questions

Postby Niddi » Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:42 am