Discuss anything relating to Elite: Dangerous
GlobusDiablo
Dangerous
Dangerous
CMDR: GlobusDiablo
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

No off-line mode

Postby GlobusDiablo » Sat Nov 15, 2014 6:59 pm

Thought we might just as well start a thread.

Thoughts?

I really think that FD has to rethink this. First off, they promised it in Kick starter. Second off, what happens after say 7 years, when FD close the servers?

I've been playing Frontier: Elite 2 for 25 years, and hope to play Elite: Dangerous long after servers close. This in now impossible.

Mr_Average
Expert
Expert
CMDR: Mr_Average
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Re: No off-line mode

Postby Mr_Average » Sat Nov 15, 2014 7:09 pm

If they're clever, they'd propose the possibly to setup your own server (like Call of Duty did in days past).

Cmdr Kharma
Dangerous
Dangerous
CMDR: Kharma

Postby Cmdr Kharma » Sat Nov 15, 2014 7:17 pm

If they were clever....

They might just have had an inkling that no offline mode would provoke a substantial backlash.......

Tor.....Hold on.......Tor.......Wait a bit.....TOR will you stop fecking firing.......Ok......Tor I know a therapist that can help you....... :D My Cmdr also has small feet

SJT
Competent
Competent
CMDR: Stephen Taylor

Postby SJT » Sat Nov 15, 2014 7:41 pm

It's spread to at least four gaming news sites already. Pretty good for a Saturday. I hope they have a good crisis management plan.

Cmdr Kharma
Dangerous
Dangerous
CMDR: Kharma

Postby Cmdr Kharma » Sat Nov 15, 2014 8:02 pm

Great..............

Game will be slated before it's even released.............

And reviewers of final game will remember this............

FD have fucked up in a big way I think..............

I love the game......But I think they have really dropped the ball..............

Tor.....Hold on.......Tor.......Wait a bit.....TOR will you stop fecking firing.......Ok......Tor I know a therapist that can help you....... :D My Cmdr also has small feet

GlobusDiablo
Dangerous
Dangerous
CMDR: GlobusDiablo