Anaconda loadout advice required.

Discuss anything relating to Elite: Dangerous
Colin The Grey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 3:47 pm
CMDR: Colin The Grey
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby Colin The Grey » Tue Apr 28, 2015 10:42 am

I have current assets of just under 400M so am looking to get myself an Anaconda - mainly for RES and CZ at the moment. Looking for advice from current owners.

1. Turrets or no turrets? Do they work properly or will I find myself being fined all the time and not being able to land at an outpost to pay them off easily unless they are set to forward fire.

2. I'm leaning towards lasers for the Large and Huge hardpoints and multi cannons for the medium and small as that mixture works so well in my Python. So my question here is - Beam, Burst or Pulse?

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Image

CrisBravo
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 2:12 pm
CMDR: Cris Bravo
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby CrisBravo » Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:29 pm

For PVE I use gimballed pulse and a gimballed canon and every shield booster that I can squeeze. Turrets will get you in trouble in a RES (specially ir a faction is hostile to you).

Colin The Grey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 3:47 pm
CMDR: Colin The Grey
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby Colin The Grey » Sat May 02, 2015 3:11 pm

Finally settled on this build for Arnie - working well in the High Intensity CZ - 1.6M in just under an hour.

http://www.edshipyard.com/#/L=606,5TP5T ... 20720720nE
Image

User avatar
smartroad
Master
Master
Posts: 1376
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:14 pm
CMDR: Lase Mooray (PC) smartroad78 (XBOX)
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby smartroad » Sat May 02, 2015 4:42 pm

can you set the turrets to just target hostiles?
Image
Image
Image
Group Policy - The Order of Mobius General Orders

Colin The Grey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 3:47 pm
CMDR: Colin The Grey
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby Colin The Grey » Sat May 02, 2015 4:48 pm

Problem with Turrets is that if you hunt in the same RES long enough - the local pirate faction becomes hostile - then your turrets will fire on them as they are hostile when you target them to scan them - so you get fined as the turrets hit before the scan is complete and the 'wanted' status shows - which leads to a quick trip to a station to pay the fine. You can get round this by setting turrets to Forward Fire - then once you have scanned the target change the setting to Target only - but it's a pain to have to do it every time - so it's much easier to just forget about turrets until they get some changes to the targeting mechanics, ie. they only open fire once a scan is complete or if the target has hit you.
Image

User avatar
clivewil
Master
Master
Posts: 658
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 2:16 am
CMDR: clivewil + clivus
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby clivewil » Sat May 02, 2015 5:13 pm

i use Target Only but the 2 smallest hardpoints on mine are gimbal beams, meaning i have direct control over them. that way i can use them to turn something hostile if i need to, at which point the turrets go to work on it
-- Fly safely, shoot straight, kill quickly, land softly --

Colin The Grey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 3:47 pm
CMDR: Colin The Grey
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby Colin The Grey » Sat May 09, 2015 1:16 pm

Well finished all the upgrades on my 'Conda for now, this is how I have it setup - works great in RES, not too bad in CZ and plenty of cargo space for when I feel like trading :)

http://www.edshipyard.com/#/L=606,5TP5T ... 20720720nE
Last edited by Colin The Grey on Sun May 10, 2015 12:00 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image

User avatar
Loriath
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 2896
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:12 pm
CMDR: Loriath
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby Loriath » Sat May 09, 2015 3:04 pm

No scoop Colin? Any issues with a 15ly jump range loaded ?
Image
My Commander has Small Feet
"You're doing it wrong". No, we are having Fun OUR way.
~-~The A-Team Board ~-~
12 year olds tearing around the woods on dirt bikes have LESS FUN than we do!

Colin The Grey
Expert
Expert
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 3:47 pm
CMDR: Colin The Grey
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby Colin The Grey » Sat May 09, 2015 4:41 pm

Loriath wrote:No scoop Colin? Any issues with a 15ly jump range loaded ?



If I'm travelling a long distance I just put a 4A scoop on one of the bays - For example later I will prob head up to Diso - 10 jumps at fastest route with the scoop fitted - as for the 15Ly distance when full - the tank holds enough for 4 jumps when set to fastest route and I usually have no problem selling at a nice profit somewhere within that range - started to use EDDB's multi hop route planner with hop range set to 50 - a 6 Hop run nets me around 3M profit :mrgreen:
Image

User avatar
Loriath
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 2896
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:12 pm
CMDR: Loriath
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Anaconda loadout advice required.

Postby Loriath » Sat May 09, 2015 7:53 pm

Nice.
Image
My Commander has Small Feet
"You're doing it wrong". No, we are having Fun OUR way.
~-~The A-Team Board ~-~
12 year olds tearing around the woods on dirt bikes have LESS FUN than we do!


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 21 guests

i