Baelydon
Harmless
Harmless
CMDR: Baelydon
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

DIY rubberizing HOTAS...

Postby Baelydon » Wed Sep 30, 2015 3:41 am

Howdy!

When I started playing E:D (in July), I naturally wanted to maximize my experience and bought a hotas, as I have always been a KB & mouse gamer and haven't played any sort of flight sim since... I think... Homeworld/Aquanox/Freelancer.... era.

I started cheap and bought a T-Flight Hotas X, and as many are probably aware, it's pretty slick, as in it has no grippy grippy! I don't know how many sticks/hotas models out there have a rubber grip or not, but I'm willing to bet some of you ;) ;) have managed to get a nice DIY rubber coating of sorts going on?

Currently I use 'Plasti Dip' on any of my .... anything really... that I want a nice and inexpensive rubber coating on, from my hotas, to my mouse, keyboard, the plastic housing on my tablet, cell phone, my laptop (which has/had a very glossy finish that I absolutely hate due to infamous finger prints), I even use this stuff to rubberize my keys/keyfob/keychain and would ya belive... my coffee mug! (stanley stainless steel green thing).

Anyways.... Although this stuff is easy to apply, easy to make it look like the item was manufactured that way, and just as easy to peel it off and start over... this stuff doesn't seem to last very long on my stick & throttle or my mouse.

Within about 2 weeks of playing E:D every day, at least 8 hrs a day, that nice rubber coating started to gum up and turn shiny, gooey, and sticky right where my hands are gripping. I'm not sure what the cause is, if it's my white-knuckle death grip, my hand lotion, or just natural palm sweat (I know, gross, but it's a known problem right? right guys?.... guys? ..... lol ).