thebs
Master
Master
CMDR: thebs
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Article: "Elite Dangerous Mulls Dropping Support For 32-bit, DirectX 10"

Postby thebs » Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:23 am

I'll make it short'n sweet ...

Braben is trying to emphasize how the Win32/DX10 support is hampering developing, and keeping them from completely focusing on improving the engine.

"Elite Dangerous Mulls Dropping Support For 32-bit, DirectX 10"
- https://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2016/0 ... 10-32-bit/
CMDR TheBS - Yet Another Middle Aged American (YAMAA) and Extremely Casual Gamer often confused for a Total Noob

Darr Valen
Expert
Expert
CMDR: Darr Valen
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

Re: Article: "Elite Dangerous Mulls Dropping Support For 32-bit, DirectX 10"

Postby Darr Valen » Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:31 am

I think someone had a thread for this already. Regardless, I fully support dragging idiots into the future.. or at least the last 10 years. Really, if your PC doesn't support 64 bit, that's a stupid problem to have in 2016. That's like having an IDE drive still, or an AGP video card. People like that are the reason why a lot of games aren't as advanced as they could be. Artificially lowered min specs ruining potential.

charlie2alpha
Expert
Expert
CMDR: charlie2alpha

Postby charlie2alpha » Wed Sep 21, 2016 8:05 am

If your PC doesn't support 64bit I can't even imagine how can even play E: D in the first place! It means that you either have an ancient CPU, or you were foolish enough to install 32bit Windows without good reason.

Loriath
Dangerous
Dangerous
CMDR: Loriath
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

Postby Loriath » Wed Sep 21, 2016 8:45 am

charlie2alpha wrote:If your PC doesn't support 64bit I can't even imagine how can even play E: D in the first place! It means that you either have an ancient CPU, or you were foolish enough to install 32bit Windows without good reason.