Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Community Support for the machines running the game
User avatar
Relix Typhon
Master
Master
Posts: 779
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 1:08 pm
CMDR: Relix Typhon
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby Relix Typhon » Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:38 pm

Bumping this old thread rather than starting a new one.
Does anyone know if you still have to log in to use shadowplay? I just tried to open Geforce experience but it forced me to update but then crashed after removing the old version (yeah its still doing that :lol:)

If it still requires a log in, I'm not going to bother installing it; I'll find some other way of recording, if I want to, which is rare anyway.

User avatar
JohnLuke
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 5026
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 10:24 am
CMDR: JohnLuke
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby JohnLuke » Sat Dec 03, 2016 9:03 pm

I would like an answer on this too. I've been using an old version of GE force experience, hoping that some other brave soul will test the newer software and tell us whether or not it's working okay. :)
-JL

Discord Admin
Forum moderator
FB Group moderator

Image

tekcor
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:01 pm
CMDR: Tekcor
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby tekcor » Sat Dec 03, 2016 9:07 pm

Still requires a login, at least as far as I can tell. Personally, I'm ok with that. I use a password manager and unique email addresses, so I don't really care.
Image

User avatar
JustSomeGuy
Master
Master
Posts: 573
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:01 pm
CMDR: Murhapuro
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby JustSomeGuy » Sat Dec 03, 2016 9:10 pm

I wish it would be possible to record only last x minutes with OBS :/
I play on PC, in the Mobius PVE Eurasia group.
Image

TorTorden
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3953
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:13 am
CMDR: TorTorden
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby TorTorden » Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:13 pm

I'm playing around with OBS atm, still looking a bit grainy.
But honestly geforce experience is a no go at this point.

It was annoying BEFORE so I don't even want to try it now. And shadowplay was nice I guess.
But every time I tried to tweak it, there where just nothing but the absolute basic options.
So you where left recording what you get, and no to long ago it would just as often crash the video driver as not.

OBS has a running recorder. It's just called the replay buffer.
I haven't tested it yet, but I will give it a shot tomorrow or something.

https://obsproject.com/forum/resources/ ... uffer.103/
Image

Hey I'm Thor -
People call me Bob.

Rule 1: Pillage. Then burn.
Rule 2: No such thing as overkill, as long as there are reloads.

User avatar
JustSomeGuy
Master
Master
Posts: 573
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:01 pm
CMDR: Murhapuro
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby JustSomeGuy » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:15 am

TorTorden wrote:I'm playing around with OBS atm, still looking a bit grainy.
But honestly geforce experience is a no go at this point.

It was annoying BEFORE so I don't even want to try it now. And shadowplay was nice I guess.
But every time I tried to tweak it, there where just nothing but the absolute basic options.
So you where left recording what you get, and no to long ago it would just as often crash the video driver as not.

OBS has a running recorder. It's just called the replay buffer.
I haven't tested it yet, but I will give it a shot tomorrow or something.

https://obsproject.com/forum/resources/ ... uffer.103/

That seems to be only in OBS classic, not in OBS studio which I have installed and I don't want to install the old one because reasons. :)
I do need to buy more disk space anyway so I guess it's not that bad problem, it is easy to just cut the part I need from the bigger video.
I wish I could afford a good NAS to store stuff, I've understood that Qnap products sould be the ones to aim for. A dream would be to have 8 disks and so that 2 of them can break before there will be data loss. But.. the price of that kind of setup is just way beyond my wallet.
I play on PC, in the Mobius PVE Eurasia group.
Image

User avatar
thebs
Master
Master
Posts: 732
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:49 pm
CMDR: thebs
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby thebs » Sun Dec 04, 2016 11:12 pm

Well, I had to update my GeForce and Oculus drivers when I moved to the GTX 1080 from my GTX 980 Ti prior. The out-of-memory crashes now seem to be gone. BTW, I uninstalled the GeForce Experience immediately after upgrading the drivers.
Image
CMDR TheBS - Yet Another Middle Aged American (YAMAA) and Extremely Casual Gamer often confused for a Total Noob

User avatar
Loriath
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 2895
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:12 pm
CMDR: Loriath
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby Loriath » Mon Dec 05, 2016 6:52 am

thebs wrote:Well, I had to update my GeForce and Oculus drivers when I moved to the GTX 1080 from my GTX 980 Ti prior. The out-of-memory crashes now seem to be gone. BTW, I uninstalled the GeForce Experience immediately after upgrading the drivers.


Do a Custom install and unselect GE and it Never installs.
Image
My Commander has Small Feet
"You're doing it wrong". No, we are having Fun OUR way.
~-~The A-Team Board ~-~
12 year olds tearing around the woods on dirt bikes have LESS FUN than we do!

User avatar
JustSomeGuy
Master
Master
Posts: 573
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:01 pm
CMDR: Murhapuro
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby JustSomeGuy » Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:11 pm

AMD now has it's own version of Shadowplay, called ReLive.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HHHkPaxC7iE
I play on PC, in the Mobius PVE Eurasia group.
Image

User avatar
Roger Wilco Jr
Master
Master
Posts: 1810
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:52 pm
CMDR: Roger Wilco Jr.
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Warning for GeForce Experience Users

Postby Roger Wilco Jr » Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:32 am

Probably a bad idea, but I decided to give this a go - it must be better by now, right?

No - it sucks.

I didn't really set out to try it, but when I tried checking my Gforce Experience settings for the first time in several months, I was only given the option to upgrade. I may have been able to skip it, but instead said WTF. I can live with the login, but I can't figure out how to change the recording settings. They say you can record up to 4k and that the standard is 1080p 60FPS, but I don't see where you can change the settings. I tried a sample recording, and it's still recording at 720p 30FPS, so it remembered that from before. So that's good, because I'm not interested in uploading gigabyte files to youtube (assuming I ever do that again). I haven't tried it with VR yet, but I assume it still may have issues.

It's also very forceful about trying to get you to broadcast and automatically upload huge screen shots. No thanks. I'm not interested in twitching, and if I upload a pic, I want to reduce it's size and quality - both for faster uploads and more friendly user views. Oh well, I use SSC for screencaps anyway.

Meh, I'll live with it for a while and see how it goes.
It's time to give this another go.


Return to “Hardware and Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

i