MFD......W.I.P

Community Support for the machines running the game
User avatar
Cmdr Kharma
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3774
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:28 pm
CMDR: Kharma
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

MFD......W.I.P

Postby Cmdr Kharma » Tue Feb 23, 2016 4:46 pm

Got a bit pissed off with the Roccat powergrid server going down yesterday and it sometimes loses connection.....Not good in game.....

So had a hunt around a few boxes and dug something out.....

Seems to work quite well....Gonna give it an ingame test later......

Obviously artwork is basic at this stage.....

Keys and macros programmed using Xpadder.....

MFD.jpg
MFD.jpg (227.55 KiB) Viewed 1244 times
Image

Tor.....Hold on.......Tor.......Wait a bit.....TOR will you stop fecking firing.......Ok......Tor I know a therapist that can help you....... :D My Cmdr also has small feet

User avatar
Loriath
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 2896
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:12 pm
CMDR: Loriath
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: MFD......W.I.P

Postby Loriath » Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:19 pm

Which one opens the beer fridge?

And do you have one reserved for "Targeting Lori" ?

:P
Image
My Commander has Small Feet
"You're doing it wrong". No, we are having Fun OUR way.
~-~The A-Team Board ~-~
12 year olds tearing around the woods on dirt bikes have LESS FUN than we do!

User avatar
Cmdr Kharma
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3774
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:28 pm
CMDR: Kharma
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: MFD......W.I.P

Postby Cmdr Kharma » Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:23 pm

One of the un-programmed as yet buttons at the bottom will open the fridge......

And I have a shift state when ALL the buttons target you......

:D
Image

Tor.....Hold on.......Tor.......Wait a bit.....TOR will you stop fecking firing.......Ok......Tor I know a therapist that can help you....... :D My Cmdr also has small feet

User avatar
Siobhan
Competent
Competent
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:09 pm
CMDR: Shivvi
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: MFD......W.I.P

Postby Siobhan » Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:24 pm

Cmdr Kharma wrote:One of the un-programmed as yet buttons at the bottom will open the fridge......

And I have a shift state when ALL the buttons target you......

:D


But not a shift state where all the buttons open the fridge? Maybe each one delivering a different kind of beer?
Slacker!
Image

User avatar
CMDR Abil Midena
Expert
Expert
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 7:00 pm
CMDR: Abil Midena
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: MFD......W.I.P

Postby CMDR Abil Midena » Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:38 pm

I use two of those for Falcon 4 and DCS A10C.

Doesn't ED see them for non macro?

Keep us updated.
My Youtube Channel
Elite - Elite - Elite

User avatar
Cmdr Kharma
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3774
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:28 pm
CMDR: Kharma
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: MFD......W.I.P

Postby Cmdr Kharma » Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:40 am

They both come from me playing DCS A10-C as well.......

I just used Xpadder to bind them to the keys I had defined in ED.....

Don't forget you can have two bindings for a function in ED.....

I have the joystick bound to one function and a keyboard bind for the same function for use in macros......

Like my combat power setting in the macro is.....B,W,W,E,W.......

That translates to.........My B is balanced as a starting point......W= pips to weapons....E = pips to engines ...Which are defined in game options......
Image

Tor.....Hold on.......Tor.......Wait a bit.....TOR will you stop fecking firing.......Ok......Tor I know a therapist that can help you....... :D My Cmdr also has small feet

User avatar
StaticRadion
Expert
Expert
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 4:25 pm
CMDR: StaticRadion
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: MFD......W.I.P

Postby StaticRadion » Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:41 am

Between Xpadder, AutoHotKey, and VoiceAttack literally anything is possible in Elite.
Image

User avatar
Roger Wilco Jr
Master
Master
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:52 pm
CMDR: Roger Wilco Jr.
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: MFD......W.I.P

Postby Roger Wilco Jr » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:32 am

How do you use Board Ship with a button? Iirc, the option isn't always in the same space - maybe if carrying cargo or something. I think I tried it with a VA command and gave up. :roll:

It looks cool, but the problem I see is with VR. It's probably easy enough to memorize the button positions, but I bet it's hard to select buttons w/o indexing and counting, which will usually take too long.
It's time to give this another go.

User avatar
Cmdr Kharma
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3774
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:28 pm
CMDR: Kharma
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: MFD......W.I.P

Postby Cmdr Kharma » Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:30 am

Yea with VR it would be not be very good for the reason you stated.....

My boarding macro just opens the panel......Moves down the panel 3 times.....Enters the command and then closes the panel....

It seems to work in every situation so far.....Carrying cargo or not and I believe Lori has it programmed in VA.....

The longest macro is the Tranfer cargo one.....That is a doozy with 13 key presses....

The only one that fails is the docking computer one as the panels have to be in the position they are when you exit supercruise....Of course after doing stuff on a planet they are not......
Image

Tor.....Hold on.......Tor.......Wait a bit.....TOR will you stop fecking firing.......Ok......Tor I know a therapist that can help you....... :D My Cmdr also has small feet


Return to “Hardware and Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

i