Community Support for the game and it's features
Worldbuilder
Harmless
Harmless
CMDR: Worldbuilder92
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

How do I Mine?, and other such newb questions

Postby Worldbuilder » Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:21 am

[PREFACE: I know there are other topics about this which would probably be a better place to lodge this query, but I don't want to upset anyone by "necroposting", so I'm making a new topic for this. If I need to ask this in another place, please let me know, as I'm still learning my way around the forums. Thank you.]

As I've stated in other posts, I am new to Elite. As such, I wanted to try and learn about how the game works in order to set up a "starting character", as it were, for me to practice with and get accustomed to the game. I decided to start by exploring the mining/salvage career, as one can easily make a lot of money by collecting leftover garbage and playing around rocks.
However, the mining tutorial left me confused and lost; at a certain point, it asked me to enter "analysis mode", and the objectives began registering as complete, even though I myself wasn't doing anything. I couldn't find the keybind to enter analysis mode, nor could I even get my mining tools to activate! I tried watching the Youtube video, but that left me more confused than anything.

I then decided to skip the tutorial, and try to learn on the fly. I began by leaving Trevithick station to head for Evarate, in hopes of finding some materials which could boost my funds and start me saving up for a transport of some kind. I discovered a shipwreck around a nearby planet, and decided to investigate; in short, I found a wreck which left me with some unusual raw materials, including crystals and toxic samples. With visions of scavenging wrecks in my head, I docked with the nearest station, Maine, in hopes of selling what I'd collected...and I couldn't find how to sell anything.

Thus is why I am writing this. My questions are as follows: