Community Support for the game and it's features
evovi
Master
Master
CMDR: Auloria
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Turrets

Postby evovi » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:33 pm

Never had a turreted weapon before - and reading various Reddit posts and forum posts (mainly on old game builds) people refer to them as useless and guaranteed to get you wanted by hitting police or innocents ..

Are they effective and viable nowadays, more predictable or are there things I should watch out for?

Anaconda builds I've seen tend to utilise turrets of some description is this down to hard point placement or just because it works better

Just want a heads up before I get myself in trouble - I'm a law abiding citizen officer

Kiltrathi
Expert
Expert
CMDR: Kiltrathi

Re: Turrets

Postby Kiltrathi » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:48 pm

I've used them extensively, both on an Anaconda and on a Fer-de-Lance. I've yet to encounter any situation where I'm firing on anything other than the intended target. I do however set them on attack target, not just any enemy nearby. For the latter I use my SLF, set to defend, she is deadly when it comes to taking out my target's wingmen.
The Fer-de-Lance built has two turreted beam lasers, they'll keep on firing while I'm manoeuvring into a firing arc for my huge multi-cannons.

Quartz
Harmless
Harmless
CMDR: Quartz Christie
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

Postby Quartz » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:50 pm

They don't trigger aggro unless you tell them specifically to attack a non wanted target. Only problem is, you'll need to switch weapon group or unlock the target to stop turrets from firing.

As in effectiveness, they are meh. Medium turret beams worked well enough on my python against pesky eagles but I'd still not use them unless I'm in a conda.

Bookmite
Harmless
Harmless
CMDR: Bookmite

Postby Bookmite » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:54 pm