Community Support for the game and it's features
Relix Typhon
Master
Master
CMDR: Relix Typhon
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Armour and Hull Reinforcement

Postby Relix Typhon » Sat Sep 03, 2016 2:08 pm

I just wanted advice and opinions on improving the armour of ships. I've read a bit on how it works in game but it doesn't seem as simple as "adding armour protects your ship more", its all to do with integrity and module damage etc.

From my own experience, I added Military Grade Composite and and some Hull reinforcement packages to my Viper MkIII but it just made the handling terrible. And I don't find the MkIII particularly good at handling anyway (note: I'm not the best combat pilot, so I'm sure when I get the hang of flying it to its strengths, I'll find it better)

Either way, any thoughts and insights to armour would be welcome :)

TorTorden
Deadly
Deadly
CMDR: TorTorden

Re: Armour and Hull Reinforcement

Postby TorTorden » Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:03 pm

I'm no expert but I find most small ships to need manoeuvrability more than the armor.
And the rest is up to choosing your targets I don't necessarily expect to be able to kill pythons and fdl npcs (at least not an upper ranked one) with a viper.

My main tip would be to keep an eye on optimal mass for the thrusters and your ships current mass, keep mass down as far as possible and to just play around with modules to find your own best biuld.

There is a reason why my stats read 9+ billion spent on outfitting modules ;)

Hey I'm Thor -
People call me Bob.

Rule 1: Pillage. Then burn.
Rule 2: No such thing as overkill, as long as there are reloads.

BaseKillerWolf
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
CMDR: BaseKillerWolf

Postby BaseKillerWolf » Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:26 pm