Discuss anything relating to Elite: Dangerous
Gypsy
Harmless
Harmless
CMDR: FoolishGypsy
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Bounty Hunting Near Sol?

Postby Gypsy » Sun May 07, 2017 3:11 am

Looking for a good place to test out my new FAS and fine tune the hardpoints. Any busy systems near Sol? What exactly should I look for in the system. High Sec? War? I'm still pretty new to BH'in so any advice is greatly appreciated. Fly safe.

smartroad
Master
Master
CMDR: Lase Mooray (PC) smartroad78 (XBOX)
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

Re: Bounty Hunting Near Sol?

Postby smartroad » Sun May 07, 2017 8:16 am

Personally I just go where there is a planet with rings (and a population) of course! As they are normally mining operations and bounty hunt there :D
Group Policy - The Order of Mobius General Orders

Xebeth
Deadly
Deadly
CMDR: Xebeth

Postby Xebeth » Sun May 07, 2017 9:06 am

If you use https://eddb.io/body, you can set the filters to just look for bodies with rings in populated systems. Not a guarantee of a RES, but a good starting point.
Please make sure you have read the Mobius GroupPolicy

Sevin Church
Expert
Expert
CMDR: Sevin Church
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Postby Sevin Church » Sun May 07, 2017 1:22 pm

My wing bases out of Wolf 906, and Wolf 918 has some good rings as well with res sites.

Lanceor
Expert
Expert
CMDR: Lanceor

Postby Lanceor » Mon May 08, 2017 12:50 am

When I was based at Sol, I used to hunt at WISE 0855−0714 just a bit over 7 ly away.

In addition to many RES sites, it has an outpost with an Interstellar Factors contact where you can hand any Empire/Alliance bounties you happen to pick up.

The downside of this system is that there are no large landing pads. However, if you're bounty hunting in an Anaconda/Corvette/Clipper, you'd probably know a lot of good bounty hunting systems already. ;)
Very little game time, but often chatting at work.

UnmarkedBoxcar
Master
Master
CMDR: UnmarkedBoxcar

Postby UnmarkedBoxcar » Mon May 08, 2017 2:53 am