CMDR Usquebaugh

Welcome Commander! Introduce yourself in here.
DaveyWavey
Harmless
Harmless
CMDR: Usquebaugh
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

CMDR Usquebaugh

Postby DaveyWavey » Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:54 pm

Hey all.

I joined the Mobius PvE Eurasia group several weeks ago, but real life (and general laziness) has got in the way of me introducing myself here. Until now...

I am CMDR Usquebaugh, a name born from a love of whisky and a chronic lack of imagination.

I've been playing ED since the summer of 2015, mostly in Solo, like the risk-averse scaredy-cat that I am. My original intention was to grind away in Solo until I was good enough, and flying a tough enough ship, to survive the big bad world of Open.

Two years on, after some pretty epic grind, and a lot of fun, I'm now reaching the end of my aspirations in terms of acquiring a 'tough' ship, and while I'm still not really a 'good' combat pilot, I'm not entirely green either. And yet, the promise of a well-balanced, equitable gameplay experience in Open seems to be eluding me. (Like many others, I suspect.) To elaborate: I'm not ideologically opposed to PvP in principle, but all of my experiences of it in Open have been extremely unmatched. Even in my somewhat-engineered Corvette, I still have to run away squealing from a wing of three hyper-engineered FDLs, and that pretty much sums up all of my PvP encounters -- no-one seems interested in a fair fight.

Aside from my concerns about Open, I have absolutely loved playing ED. I'm not much of a gamer, TBH, but I dabbled with the 1980s BBC Elite when I was a kid, and it's always had a special place in my heart. For most of the last couple of years, ED has enthralled me... until recently, that is.