Hello from Wales

Welcome Commander! Introduce yourself in here.
Combiseries

Hello from Wales

Postby Combiseries » Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:51 pm

A big hello to everyone here on the Möbius group. I've only just recently joined and haven't had a chance to meet any of you in-game yet, I lead a very busy life, working, kids, wife, dog, etc.

I come from a town called Llanelli in South Wales, UK. I started playing computer games when I was eight years old when I won a ZX spectrum in a fancy dress competition. I played games like Beach Head, The Hobbit, Football Manager, Match Day, Jet Set Willy and many, many others - indeed I still do sometimes when I get an itch to play some retro games on my tablet using Spectaculator.

When Elite came out on the Speccy, I was blown away, I was an avid Trekkie and loved space films like Star Wars etc, and space games like Star Raiders et all. Elite however, now that took me to places I could only dream of in dreams. Simple graphics now, but in those days they were ground breaking.

I stuck with the Speccy right up until it died and moved onto an Amiga 500, then the 1200, and put hundreds and hundreds of hours into Frontier. I loved the game and would play it from the early hours of the morning right through to the dawn next day, not very healthy I know - I did get sleep, but sometimes I had to put the time in because I used to do other things as well.

After the 1200 I moved onto consoles like the Mega Drive (Sega Genesis), and loved games like Star Control and Urquan Masters. I was always on the look out for Elite type games, sadly my Speccy died and my Amiga broke so I couldn't play them anymore.

Then around 15 years ago, give or take a year, I walked into my local games shop ( was looking for PlayStation games ) and noticed Freelancer for the PC. I just had to get a PC, this looked like the Elite type game I was looking for. I sunk hundreds of hours into this off and online, modded and vanilla.