Just another pilot's story

Tell us your stories of Elite: Dangerous!
L'Kas Rykr
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
CMDR: L'Kas Rykr
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Just another pilot's story

Postby L'Kas Rykr » Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:43 pm

So, I’ve seen that some people have done a bit of role-playing here and have written the story of how their CMDR started out, and how they live their lives. I’ve noticed that this has been received well by the Mobius community, so I’d thought I’d add mine to the list. I’m just a hobbyist writer, so I’m not the best author around. Obviously, I’ll try to fix any spelling and grammar errors I make, so it’ll be readable.

-----
Story
-----

During my travels, I’ve had dockers ask me about my story. More often than not, I’ll bite and give them a synopsis. I’m nothing special, but they seem to hang on my words. Hell, I’ve even caught the occasional pilot listening. I guess that working on and near so many ships give them fantasies, and a pilot’s story is eaten up as if the docker is starving. Not that I have any problem with this. Like I said, more often than not I’ll indulge them. So, I got to thinking. You want a story, dockers? I’ll give you mine.

I was born to a rather destitute family at Trevithick Dock in LHS 3447. Not much traffic other than miners. Anyone else who comes in leaves and never comes back, so even high-level dockers get a crap wage. My parents weren’t anything more than gophers, so they got it even worse. They could barely afford to keep themselves afloat, let alone raising a kid. So when I was born, they gave me up to foster care. Today, I don’t feel any animosity because I understand why they did it. Back then I was singing a different tune.