Something to Remember Me By: A not-so-brief history of Boxcar and Red

Tell us your stories of Elite: Dangerous!
UnmarkedBoxcar
Master
Master
CMDR: UnmarkedBoxcar
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

Something to Remember Me By: A not-so-brief history of Boxcar and Red

Postby UnmarkedBoxcar » Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:58 pm

PREFACE

I am a writing student, but not a novelist. This is not intended to be professional grade, so to speak. It has not been through an editor, and it has not seen any peer review. I will be browsing through it looking for typos and other missteps, and some of the grammar, structure, or phrasing may change a bit over the coming days/weeks. Having said that, the reason I took the time to write it out has several facets. Putting this all "on paper" so to speak has helped to cement a few of the thoughts and ideas that wander through my brain as I play Elite: Dangerous, and has helped me to garner more enjoyment from the game itself. I, like a few of you, I'm sure, can't help but think through stories or scenarios or little private mental RP sessions in my head while I play, and sharing them with others, I believe, only adds to the depth and possibility of this game as a medium for enjoyment, experience, and storytelling.

I know Elite isn't perfect, but it is darn fun. I hope that those of you who are interested can get a little bit of fun out of this story. It is not short, by forum standards, nor is it long by literature standards. It is very much imperfect, but I believe the spirit remains intact. Writing this has helped me to flesh out and understand a very interesting relationship, and I hope that it's not a complete and total waste. Though, having said that, because of what I've already gotten out of it, there's no way it cold be a waste, even if no one else likes it at all.

In any case. I've prattled enough. Thank you all very much for being such awesome forum/group members. The writing will follow in the next post.