Would an anaconda float?

Eveything that is canon in the Elite: Dangerous universe.
Cmdr. Ancalagon
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:45 pm
CMDR: Ancalagon the Black
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby Cmdr. Ancalagon » Mon Jan 04, 2016 6:13 am

Well, if you come in at high speed, you could try to skip unto land? XD

User avatar
Loriath
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 2884
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:12 pm
CMDR: Loriath
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby Loriath » Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:09 am

Cmdr. Ancalagon wrote:Well, if you come in at high speed, you could try to skip unto land? XD


We have video evidence that a Clipper and Asp can skip (or bounce depending on your terminology) so it may be possible.
Image
My Commander has Small Feet
"You're doing it wrong". No, we are having Fun OUR way.
~-~The A-Team Board ~-~
12 year olds tearing around the woods on dirt bikes have LESS FUN than we do!

TorTorden
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3795
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:13 am
CMDR: TorTorden
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby TorTorden » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:05 pm

Loriath wrote:
Cmdr. Ancalagon wrote:Well, if you come in at high speed, you could try to skip unto land? XD


We have video evidence that a Clipper and Asp can skip (or bounce depending on your terminology) so it may be possible.

I did it on Achenar 3 in a conda, twice then I "landed"...
Image

Hey I'm Thor -
People call me Bob.

Rule 1: Pillage. Then burn.
Rule 2: No such thing as overkill, as long as there are reloads.

Schmobius
Master
Master
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:44 am
CMDR: Schmobius
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby Schmobius » Mon Jan 11, 2016 2:42 pm

TorTorden wrote:
Loriath wrote:
Cmdr. Ancalagon wrote:Well, if you come in at high speed, you could try to skip unto land? XD


We have video evidence that a Clipper and Asp can skip (or bounce depending on your terminology) so it may be possible.

I did it on Achenar 3 in a conda, twice then I "landed"...


The first time I ever flew on a plane, it bounced pretty high on landing. The stewardess then gets on the intercom and says "Welcome to Dallas. Twice."
Image

User avatar
Avago-Earo
Master
Master
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:01 pm
CMDR: AVAGO EARO
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby Avago-Earo » Mon Jan 11, 2016 3:13 pm

Daniel Dakota wrote:Ah, I was just about to make one and see if it floated in the bath :)


Pictures please (lose the rubber duck though) ;)
"Wibble"

User avatar
Masark
Competent
Competent
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 5:22 am
CMDR: Masark
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby Masark » Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:09 am

Straylight0 wrote:Lol. I wish they'd release the 3d models, there's a place in town with 3d printers you can use for just the cost of materials...


The local library around here offers 3D printing on that same basis.
Image

User avatar
Crimson
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 6:20 pm
CMDR: Crimson Paladin
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby Crimson » Tue Apr 26, 2016 4:15 pm

Old post, I know, but here's my two cents on the floating Anaconda. I noticed 4 doors. Two are topside just behind the cabin with ladders to access the roof (nice...). Two more are just forward of the cargo hold, but way off the ground (just under the "lip" of the top deck). It appears to me that either these are for space walks -OR- maybe, just maybe, if she was in water these would be just above the water line?

Just a thought... :roll:
Image

FANTA5M1C
Competent
Competent
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 7:24 am
CMDR: FANTA5M1C
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby FANTA5M1C » Sun May 01, 2016 1:10 am

If we get water world access and my conda floats, I'm rechristening her "Bebop." I'm just saying...
Image

Jellicoe
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 7:19 am
CMDR: Jellicoe
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby Jellicoe » Fri May 06, 2016 3:09 pm

If I remember the lore of the earlier game(s) correctly the Moray Starboat was noted for being amphibious, presumably meaning the other ships were not. Whether a ship would afloat if, say, it ditched in the sea on a planet I don't think has ever been addressed.
Image

User avatar
W.T.Sherman
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 3:14 am
CMDR: W.T.Sherman
CMDR_Platform: None Specified
Contact:

Re: Would an anaconda float?

Postby W.T.Sherman » Sat May 07, 2016 10:38 pm

I'm with the "floaty, but not boaty" crowd. If the vessel is airtight it would certainly be watertight, for how long is another question entirely. I'm thinking that if the cargo hold could be flooded without compromising the rest of the ship, it might be relatively stable.. One of the imperial ships, on the other hand would likely be more like a catamaran. Either way, all of these ships are very lightly constructed, (though, lighter wieght and increased strength of future building materials would have to be considered), think aircraft rather than battleship. The Anaconda is roughly the size of a cruiser and wieghs roughly 1200 tons compared to roughly 20,000-30,000 tons for the warship (these are obviously rough estimates 8-) ). I would not expect it to do well in a storm on a waterworld, especially if it was damaged and force-landed. Just my $.02.
I'm just here for comic relief. (That includes in-game) :D


Return to “Official Lore Talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

i