Grade 5 Shields on an Imperial Cutter

Found the perfect trade route? Made a guide to the galaxy? Post it here!
User avatar
Xebeth
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 4039
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:22 am
CMDR: Xebeth
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

Grade 5 Shields on an Imperial Cutter

Postby Xebeth » Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:51 am

So I didn't know this, but by using the bonus to optimal mass for shields from some of the engineering blueprints it is possible to fit a grade 5 shield to a cutter. Not tried it yet as I'm on the other side of the galaxy, but will certainly give it a go on my trade cutter when I get back.

Full explanation given in this thread over on the FD forum.

Image

I'm guessing it can be applied to other ships/builds as well
Image
Please make sure you have read the Mobius GroupPolicy

User avatar
JohnLuke
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 4842
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 10:24 am
CMDR: JohnLuke
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

Re: Grade 5 Shields on an Imperial Cutter

Postby JohnLuke » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:28 am

Great info Xebeth! Thanks for sharing! :D
-JL

Forum moderator
FB Group moderator
Discord Admin

Image

TorTorden
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 3735
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:13 am
CMDR: TorTorden
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Re: Grade 5 Shields on an Imperial Cutter

Postby TorTorden » Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:23 am

1:
Explorers have been doing this since engineering was introduced to gain both shields and sacrifice the least amount of range.
This trick is so old it seem to have become new again.
2:
'Class' is what defines module size.
'Rating' goes from E-A.
'Grade' refers to the level of engineer modification.
Image

Hey I'm Thor -
People call me Bob.

Rule 1: Pillage. Then burn.
Rule 2: No such thing as overkill, as long as there are reloads.

User avatar
Roger Wilco Jr
Master
Master
Posts: 1806
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:52 pm
CMDR: Roger Wilco Jr.
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Re: Grade 5 Shields on an Imperial Cutter

Postby Roger Wilco Jr » Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:29 pm

Damn, for a second I thought that Cutter costs 2.1 billion.

So WTF is the broken regen rate measured in, and is it the same rate for just standard recovery, and if not, why isn't that listed as well - or is it?
It's time to give this another go.

User avatar
Cometborne
Master
Master
Posts: 802
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:41 pm
CMDR: Cometborne
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Re: Grade 5 Shields on an Imperial Cutter

Postby Cometborne » Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:43 pm

Roger Wilco Jr wrote:So WTF is the broken regen rate measured in, and is it the same rate for just standard recovery, and if not, why isn't that listed as well - or is it?


The listing only shows the changes caused by the blueprint. In this case, the broken regeneration rate (=shields offline) is reduced, and the normal regeneration rate is unchanged.

However, I do not see the big benefit for an exploration cutter, I have been playing around on Coriolis and if I replace the standard 6D shield with a mass of 16 tons) by a class 5 module with a mass of 5 tons, I gain a whooping 0.2 LY range with a perfect FSD.

If you want to play the "Reichweite über alles" game, use a different ship.
Dirty deeds done dirt cheap for reasonable prices

User avatar
de Carabas
Master
Master
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:23 pm
CMDR: de Carabas
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC
Contact:

Re: Grade 5 Shields on an Imperial Cutter

Postby de Carabas » Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:37 pm

Cometborne wrote:However, I do not see the big benefit for an exploration cutter, I have been playing around on Coriolis and if I replace the standard 6D shield with a mass of 16 tons) by a class 5 module with a mass of 5 tons, I gain a whooping 0.2 LY range with a perfect FSD.

If you want to play the "Reichweite über alles" game, use a different ship.

Two different things.
1) Change the shield class on the Cutter means more hold space for trading profit.
2) It's been done for explorers before in order to increase range on their ships.
Image
Rename your screen shots automatically! - Screen Shot Changer Visit MartianFire for more info.

User avatar
sean_crow
Competent
Competent
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 1:19 pm
CMDR: sean_crow
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Re: Grade 5 Shields on an Imperial Cutter

Postby sean_crow » Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:40 am

Did this on my mining/trade Cutter the other day.
Took about 100 rolls :/

Loaded it for mining with some turrets and was quite impressed to get bounties for enemies I could hardly see. :D
Image


Return to “Tips and Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

i