Why can't I enjoy the Viper?

Found the perfect trade route? Made a guide to the galaxy? Post it here!
Loriath
Dangerous
Dangerous
CMDR: Loriath
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

Why can't I enjoy the Viper?

Postby Loriath » Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:06 am

Even when I started playing back in January, I could not enjoy the Viper, and I am trying to understand why.

On Paper, it should be fantastic. Decent power, Decent Speed. About as agile as the Cobra. 4 Hardpoints like the Cobra. Great sounding engines.

But I hate it. Its unresponsive to course changes, it accelerates well, but carries to much momentum. It slides all over the place. I just can't make it work. I want to love it, instead I can't stand it. Would rather be in a Sidewinder.
I did an A-Rated with Rails on top and Multis underneath a day ago and hated it. Strip and sold it less than 24 hours later.

I have tried it with Pulses/Multis/rails/beams and nothing impresses me.

I know its not a Stand and Bang ship, and I play it B'n'Z.

So why did I hate it?

Here is what ships I love and why.
Sidewinder: Most Balance performer in the game. Its speed is directly related to its ability to turn on all axis. Best throttle response Up and Down. Gets ignored by most ships
Eagle: Most Agile fun single seater in the game. Not the fastest, but so easy to keep guns on target.
iEagle: Less agile, but Love the sounds and the speed. 3 M Hardpoints is Fabulous.
Cobra: Good agility, stable platform, same Hardpoints. Fast. Basic Multirole ship that can flee if it can't kill.
iCourier: Larger version of the Eagle/iEagle. Takes hits that would burst others. Hits hard enough to do the job. Sounds Awesome.
DBS/DBE: Not enough experience in battles, but I like the way the S moves and its hardpoints are good. the X is more akin to the Cobra but better turning.
Vulture: It's slow but if you get in my range, you are dead. Enough Said.