Help with my Asp?

Found the perfect trade route? Made a guide to the galaxy? Post it here!
Leeta
Harmless
Harmless
CMDR: Leeta
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Help with my Asp?

Postby Leeta » Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:50 am

I've been flying my Asp for a while now, and I love it, it's a ship I plan to keep forever, outfitting it later on as an exploration vessel rather than the multipurpose it is now. My current build is this :

http://coriolis.io/outfit/asp/05B5B5B4B4A5C5C1b1b24242424020m--054b02--2i2f.Iw18WQ==.Aw18WQ==

I plan to continue using this ship as a multipurpose until I can afford a well fitted viper or a low end vulture, at which point I'll likely remove the combat focus from the Asp. I want to know if there are any things which can be easily improved upon, as I'm relatively new to the game. I usually run bulletin board smuggling / cargo missions to make my money. I occasionally do some bounty hunting or short exploration trips as well. Lately I have been trying to earn merits with ALD, but when I go into combat sweeps my ship seems to get ganged up on quickly and forces me to run away. Not sure if this is just me being unskilled, or if my ship is underpowered.

Anyways, any input would be super helpful and appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Mikey D
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
CMDR: Mikey D

Re: Help with my Asp?

Postby Mikey D » Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:22 am

Get a Cobra to do the multipurpose. It is fairly cheap to set up. Weapon load out can be altered to suit your play style, it can carry 40 tons of cargo. It's a simple multi-purpose build that works for me.

http://coriolis.io/outfit/cobra_mk_iii/ ... =.Aw1-kA==

If you want an Asp as an explorer vessel, you need to make sacrifices to improve its performance. My Asp is set up for pure exploration. Basic rule of thumb is get the best FSD there is (5A), as good a fuel scoop as you can afford and cut the weight down. Class D modules are the lightest and greatly increase the jump range, oh and no guns.