Slow Down

Found the perfect trade route? Made a guide to the galaxy? Post it here!
tinnitus
Master
Master
CMDR: Nar Nar Goon
CMDR_Platform: PC-MAC

Slow Down

Postby tinnitus » Sat Jul 18, 2020 4:20 pm

For the last two days I am receiving the "Slow Down" supercrusie message and fail to understand what is occurring to cause this warning beyond obviously going to fast. The message occurs approximately 12000ls into a 92500ls contraband mission run the message stops broadcasting near 90000ls. The usual celestial objects are present but I should not be effected by planets gravity well causing the FSD to maintain current acceleration. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this gravity well slow down?
Image]

“In real life you never get to say "OMG I died, balls to wall and fly her apart.”

jrad
Harmless
Harmless
CMDR: j'rad

Re: Slow Down

Postby jrad » Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:13 pm

I'm still new to the game, but I believe these messages are generated whenever you fly close to a significant mass. So if you fly too close by a planet or body in-system (but are simply traveling beyond it to some other point), you will see that message get generated. Maybe others with greater time in-game will chime in here...

TorTorden
Deadly
Deadly
CMDR: TorTorden
CMDR_Platform: None Specified

Postby TorTorden » Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:59 pm

The frame shift drive is effectful up to a certain speed in relation to the mass in the close area.

Hence closer you are to a massive object, or series of objects the slower you can effectively cruise.
The "slow down", is basically a message to let you know you are going to too fast for the FSD to be effectful in regards to the mass in the area.
This means it will be slower to decrease or increase velocity and thus you woosh past whatever you where trying to do because your drive is unable to slow you down.
It is state you are in, not a warning or something happening to you.